Skip to content

In The Beginning

May 22, 2009

Like many beginnings, this one crept upon me stealthily, so gradually that I didn’t even realize it was happening.

I decided to go along with a couple of friends to Lambtown, a sheep and fiber festival.  I didn’t spin, nor did I have any desire to own any sheep or angora bunnies, but the opportunity to get out for a few hours was irresistible. My friends and I browsed through the marketplace, a collection of booths featuring all the products a spinner/weaver/knitter could ever dream of.  “Hey Cheri, look!” cried my friend Marin, holding up a delicately carved item. “It’s a spindle!  You should get one, they’re fun!” I had no intention of learning how to spindle spin, since I already had so many more crafting projects going already, yet somehow I found myself walking out of the marketplace, spindle in hand, along with a couple of pretty bumps of fiber.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 12:13 pm

    LOL..I got sucked into it too, like I need another hobby? No but i’m really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

