Skip to content

Pleats, please

May 28, 2009

My current project for the Enchanted shop is a darling little dress.  The pattern, from Oliver + S, features three pleats across the front.  Now, I have never done pleats before, but it looked like fun, and the Oliver + S patterns are so well written I thought I could handle it. With the exception of having to redo the center pleat it came out pretty well.  So far.  It’s still in progress, which brings me to the fabric.

The fabric was, in a former life, a mangle cloth from France, complete with French seams and monograms.  Deliciously thick, soft and wobbly, the pure linen fabric had a charming woven red stripe.  It was destined for better things than life as a mangle cloth!  I cut it so the red stripe would be at the bottom of the pleat panel, the side panels, and on the tab. I haven’t decided for certain, but I’m thinking mother of pearl buttons for the tab and the back. I also haven’t come up with a suitable name for the dress.  Suggestions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

