Skip to content

Little Works Of Art

May 29, 2009

Delicate works of beauty, all of my spindles are handmade.  Each has a story.

The spindle on the top left is carved from Purple-heart wood, and is my first spindle, the one I purchased at Lambtown last year.

The largest spindle is walnut, bound in bronze with sliver leaf stars and moon.  I adore the little black owl peeking out of the hand carved branches. It is the most recent acquisition to my collection.

The lace weight spindle on the far right is from Butterflygirl Designs, with a hand carved ebony shaft, and a shell top. I lusted for one after seeing a photo on someone’s Ravelry page.  I was totally thrilled when she made another one!

The spindle in the top right of the photo is my most precious one. Again, from Golding, this spindle features an antique, sterling silver ring around the outside, and a pierced, hand carved center, that is vaguely Celtic. It is one of a kind.

Arranged in a glass vase, they make an everlasting bouquet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2009 2:37 am

    hey cheri! welcome to blogworld. lovely spindle collection 🙂

  2. June 1, 2009 1:58 pm

    Beautiful spindles, I love just looking at them!

Leave a Reply

