Skip to content

Velvet Memories

June 12, 2009

3619548369_a0912a1e17

One of many memories I have of my Grandma is of her Red Velvet Cake. Whenever my family and I visited her in her Tennessee cottage, she always had, Peanut Butter Cake (Mom’s favorite), Pecan Pie (Dad’s favorite), and Red Velvet Cake (my brother’s and my favorite). I still remember the surprise of the rich, red velvety interior, in stark contrast to the pristine white frosting.

I made Red Velvet Cupcakes, but minus the red. Two containers of red food coloring was just too unhealthy! I have asked the hubs to check the Natural Food Co-op for a healthy alternative, so in the meantime, here’s my not-so-red velvet cupcakes. Sprinkles were requested by Amalie. Although they lack the visual punch of Grandmas Red Velvet Cake, they sure tasted yum!

Strangely, I was inspired in other ways too!3619852752_12ba3b1b26_m3619045641_7394cbbdb2_m

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

