Skip to content

California Dreamin’

June 30, 2009

3642248750_468dee348c_b

You know it’s going to be a hot one when you wake up at 6:00 and it’s already 85 degrees outside.  The  flat yellow coin of the rising sun turns the dark blue  night sky into a frying pan of white within seconds.

Still, there is beauty in the gold that is California  in the summer, so unlike the vibrent, lush wet green of the midwest where I grew up.

As I take my morning walk, the buzz of insects counterpoints the sharp sage scent of the native plants. Rich cornflower blue, deep yellow, and stunning purple wildflowers wave in the scorching breeze.

Pools of shadow cast by the heritage oaks feel as cool as the quiet river curling past the baking rocks.3642244628_75f5c2813a

Every where I look is a painting waiting to happen.  I drink in the stark hot beauty, until the 110 degree heat drives me indoors.  This, is central California in the summer.

3642240450_776f9e579b

3641434969_9191b93bdf

3641427655_e45e3c9fa3

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lulukieran permalink
    June 30, 2009 2:08 am

    Last fall, I moved to Los Angeles from Chicago – this is my first summer out west. I love how you compare the MidWest’s “lushness” to the “gold” of California; that’s spot on. It’s a whole different kind of beauty, but it’s beautiful nonetheless.

    • artgurl permalink*
      July 1, 2009 4:21 am

      Thank you. 🙂 I grew up in Chicago. Still miss it at Christmas time!

Leave a Reply

