Skip to content

Studio Love

August 25, 2009


Welcome!

I promised you a peek at my new studio and an opportunity to rate it!

My new studio is the (former) guest room in our home. It’s upstairs, and sunshine streams in all day, from either of the three windows.

It has the charming sloped ceilings that all the upstairs rooms have. The pocket door you see in this view leads to a quaint Jack n’ Jill bathroom.
I love the window seat area, as this is where I can do a bit of hand sewing in comfort. Sometimes Amalie joins me, and sits in the window seat.
I have two desks. One is for sewing, and the drawers hold various sewing items. The other desk is for making my tags. The large oak box on top used to be my Dad’s tool chest, which he refinished and gifted to me.

I bought the two book cases from IKEA. They hold my collection of vintage glass jars, full of antique buttons and ribbons, which I can see at a glance. Vintage picnic baskets hold lots of fiber roving, arranged by color. Books, also, find a home here.
However, my favorite place is the closet, not because it’s so lovely in itself, but because of what’s inside! Row upon row of antique and vintage fabric remnants, ranged in color stacks, and box after box, of yarn and fiber. Divine!

On the way is a French crystal chandelier, which I need for more night lighting. It will be hung in the window seat area. Also someday, I would dearly love to remove the carpet and install oak flooring.

I would love to hear your suggestions, and your opinions. So, please, rate my space!

One Comment leave one →
  1. yarnsnob permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:43 am

    LOVE IT! Looks so light and airy and comforting!

Leave a Reply

