Skip to content

Tea Time Tunic- A glimpse of a sewing project.

September 22, 2009

I spent most of my time last weekend in my studio making a Tea Time Tunic.

I  wanted to make a little girl’s top out of some sweet vintage eyelet I had in my stash. The ecru color would blend with many of Amalie’s fall clothes.                          

I chose a pattern from Portabella Pixie, a delightful pattern that I have used before, with comphy, stretchy elastic smocking on the waist, sleeves and neckline.  I also like the pattern because it lends itself to adding on special touches.  As you can see below, the fabric is slightly sheer.

I decided to add a lining to the front bodice out of some cotton I had on hand.

Fabric Layout

As you can see, the cotton was white, and I really wanted ecru, to match the eyelet.  No problem, it was time for some coffee any way!

Coffee Stain

After coffee staining the fabric, it was the perfect shade of ecru.

Time to start sewing!  The fabric is some sort of linen, and I adore working with linen, except for one thing…every seam edge must be zig zag stitched, or it unravels.  I’m a stickler for finishing edges, love the way it looks, but sometimes it’s really tedious.  Maybe it’s time for more coffee!

Trims. How I love selecting the perfect trims!  I think they can really make a project pop.  Here we have some adorable ecru flower applicae, still attached to each other via a long strand, a little Edwardian period net lace, a couple wider handmade laces on a card, another embroidered Edwardian lace, and a card of bobbin insertion lace.  All antique, one of a kind lace trim.

I decided on the flower applicae, and the smaller Edwardian net lace.trim 1

The net lace must be gathered by hand, and then hand sewn to the very edge.  I sew two rounds, just in case a thread breaks while it is being worn.

Smocking a lightweight fabric on my cheapie sewing machine isn’t easy.  The fabric gets sucked down under the needle plate unless I guide it with one hand behind and one in front of the needle.  I often think longingly of my mother’s old turquoise Singer sewing machine, a real workhorse that never seemed to have these issues.  This sewing machine does, however, have a one step button hole feature, and I think that almost makes up for its finicky behavior.

Done at last!  I just know my little Amalie will love wearing it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 11:25 pm

    Beautiful! Love the new blog format and details.

  2. September 30, 2009 2:37 pm

    This tunic turned out beautifully. Love it!
    xo
    jeanne

Leave a Reply

