Skip to content

Blowing Out The Candles

October 5, 2009

On Sunday, we celebrated Amalie’s 4th birthday. Being the craft loving person that I am, I made all the decorations. Except the balloons of course!

Some of my ideas came from The Party Dress, a wonderful blog I found recently. Just looking at that blog makes me want to throw more parties!

I filled the vintage candy jars with sugared almonds in pink, lavender, and yellow layers. Goody boxes that I made and filled with stickers from The Paper Peddler, and delicious scented bath fizzes from Sassy Scrubs n Such, were an idea from a book titled Great Parties. It had the box template inside, so all I had to do was make a copy and enlarge it to the size I wanted. I stamped the boxes with stamps from Terbear Collectibles, and found satin ribbon on clearance from Michaels to tie them on with.

I baked lots of cupcakes, lemon, and chocolate with strawberry frosting at Amalie’s request. Recipies can be found at Epicurious. They were SO yummy! I would be amiss if I didn’t tell you that Chris made a self serve taco bar, with warm bread slices, home made hummus, a platter of pickled condiments, fruit kabobs with honey yogurt dipping sauce, and home made pigs-in-a-blanket. Didn’t I mention he likes to cook?

Look at this adorable pot with it’s little sheep! You can get him, and other cuties at The Plushie Foundry.

However, I think the best part was when Julie, with Nature’s Critters arrived. She gave a wonderful, fun and informative performance with the most unusual, and interesting animals. The kids were so excited! They could hold the animals (and insects!) if they wanted to. I’ll show you a few of my favorite pictures.

Aren’t Samantha and the Hedgehog cute?

Amalie with a huge snake!

And her favorite, a tree frog!

Wow, did we ever have a great time! Now, wonder what I will do for Amalie’s 5th birthday party?

One Comment leave one →
  1. elaine permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:47 am

    Happy birthday Amalie, you look so adorable!

Leave a Reply

