Skip to content

Forever

January 29, 2010

As I walked about my classroom assisting my students with their art projects, I picked up a heavy stainless steel caliper they were drawing.

I was instantly reminded of my father.  He was a machinist and used to machine precision parts for huge complicated machines that created things such as the ink cartridges for HP.  He was very proud of his work.  Occasionally, he would bring home pieces that he created and show them to us.

The realization struck me, for the hundredth time, that he would never talk about his career again.  He would never show me, or Amalie the things he had made.  He is gone.  Forever.  The finality is still seeping in gradually, like settlement in  a pond.  I never really thought I would miss him.  But I do.

Layers of ink were blended on the page.  Image was cut from a magazine and pasted on page. Small floral masks were placed on the page and gold ink was brushed over them and on the page.  Text was added with a black gel pen after the ink dried.  The page seemed to be missing something, so I added a bit of french antique metallic ribbon. It seems to represent the separation I sometimes feel from what is actually occurring around me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 1:24 am

    This is lovely. Interesting technique too. Beautiful project!

Leave a Reply

