Skip to content

Yarn Love

May 10, 2010

I have a new love to share with you. Don’t worry, I haven’t broken any vows. 😉

It’s a love of yarn. One particular yarn. Malabrigo Silky. Currently being worked into a ravishing cardigan from the Alexandria pattern from Connie Chang Chinchio, available for purchase through Ravelry. This pattern is stunning. The moment I saw it, I HAD to have it! I just happened to have a sweater’s worth of Malabrigo Silky in the Cape Cod Grey color way sitting around, and I knew it was a match made in heaven. A graceful rounded neckline and straight front, edged with a interesting textured knit lace band. The Malabrigo Silky, a 50/50 silk and merino wool blend is so soft and shiny, it really highlights the textures. I am just up to the arm holes, and I can already tell it will be a wardrobe essential. As a knitted project, it is easy, yet the band created interest, and so avoids boredom. The delicious yarn makes each stitch a pleasure. This is definately, my favorite spring project yet.

On the list of completed projects, the Gretal baby jacket is finally done. I had the knitted side done many months ago, but set it aside for Truckin’ Lizard. I resumed work on it last week, and I have to admit, I’m pretty pleased with the results. I spun the knitted side from 2 rovings, one from Poppy Flower Fibers in the Poison Apple color way, and the other was a silk/merino blend in the Blyth color way from Pigeonroof Studios. I loved the way the two color ways complimented one another.

The knitted fabric looked great with the small amount of antique French sateen I had in my stash. French sateen is a true sateen, with the warp composed out of cotton threads, and the weft composed of silk thread. The tightly woven fabric is lightweight with a slight sheen, that won’t wash out. It also takes color beautifully. The background is a mid value green, with a stylized ribbon and flower print in white, olive and brown. It is a bit remaniscent of a folk print, and blended with the olive and greens in the knitted fabric, while highlighting the whites and pinks. The folk lore theme brought to mind lace, and so I added antique ruffled eyelet lace sleeves, Juliet style. I think the lace may have been the edging on a pillow at one time! I make the fabric side by sewing a complete jacket, fit it into the knitted jacket, and hand sew the two sides together. I then add buttons to both sides. Available for purchase from my Etsy store, Enchanted 123, size 3-6 months.

Moving onto the spinning side of things, I just finished spinning and plying 8 oz. of a cashmere/silk/merino roving from Creatively Dyed. It was such a pleasure to spin, I was almost sad to have finished it up! After being “set”, it is currently air drying, and given the rainy state of our weather, it may take some time to dry. It is destined to be part of a secret project, so more about that next time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 10:56 pm

    Awwww…. thanks for the kind words about my pattern. I’m glad it appeals to you and that you’re enjoying the knit. That’s always nice to hear 🙂 And that Malabrigo silky you’re using for it. Yummy! Can’t wait to see this all finished! You’ll post finished pictures, pretty please? 🙂

Leave a Reply

