Skip to content

Is Anyone Ever Really Finished?

October 12, 2010

I certainly am not!  But I am getting closer.

I present to you, The Bavarian Doll Haus!

As you can see, the base is incomplete.  But other parts are finished. The fresco.  Shown here larger than Real Life.  The cattle are smaller than the head of a pin.

One of the windows.  They actually open! I hand painted the Bavarian motifs.

Close up of the geraniums.  I made them from a kit.  They are paper, and I had to use tweezers, as each is slightly larger than the head of a pin.

I love the English style light over the front door!  My daughter can turn them on and off via a switch.

I’ve decided to show you only one room at a time. Today, I give you (drum roll) the Kitchen!  Based on the old Nuremberg style of kitchen, with the tile floor, and dutch tile wall.  The Bonnie Glo stove is left over from my childhood, and although not at all German style, I decided to keep it for nostalgic reasons. The sink is a porcelain sink from Doll House Collectibles. Above the sink is a hand painted plate by Amanda Skinner.

The table and hutch are hand-made by Michael Mortimer [Google his name and you will find various places that sell his work], and I adore how the furniture has that heavy dark Tudor style that I remember being so prevalent in Europe. The apple basket is handmade by Richard Johnson, purchased from Swan House Miniatures.  The chair is an inexpensive Besqua (available at almost any place that sells miniatures) ladder back chair, with a “rush” woven seat.  The pie tin and rolling-pin are left over from my childhood.

The tiny real hand forged copper pots  and ladle are from Lara Copper.  They make life-sized copper items as well!  The tea kettle, and the iron pot rack/shelf are from there as well.  I think I will stain the shelf walnut (remember the title of this post is about never being finished).  The three spice containers, and the two wall hung salt and pepper containers are made by Reutter, an old German brand, and have the words for cinnamon, sage and hazelnut printed on them in German.

This handmade copper pot was purchased from Swan Miniatures.  It is hand hammered, and has tiny brass handles, by Jason Getzan.

German kitchens always had these copper molds hanging on the wall. These two are by Matthias Matthes, from Germany.  In the wonderful hutch made by Michael Mortimer, I have 3 pewter tankards.  Very German!  There is also a set of blue a white “spatter” ware left over from my childhood.  The set is now 35 years old…does that make it vintage? Also a set of baskets, cookie trays and a pewter muffin tin are from my childhood, and a glass historically incorrect punch bowl!  Still on the hunt for some realistic butter and jelly/jam pots.  My German relatives really like butter and jam with their fresh morning brotchen!  The dear little curtains that I made aren’t quite ready, and I will show them off as well as how I made them next post. I also need to make some kitchen towels.  And how about a tiny white apron, to drape over the chair?

Fiber Delights

Although my knitting has been put on the back burner, I have still worked on my UFO at least once a week, thanks to my local Stitch N’ Bitch Group.  And yes that’s what it is really called, to my husband’s sniggering delight.   The Henley by Ann Hanson is fantastic, as is the Sundara Yarn that I am using for it.

Close up of the clever lace rib pattern.

I am currently working on the front (this is the back). I just know it’s going to turn out well!

Book Corner

Those that can’t knit enjoy reading about knitting (or at least I do)!  I recently received the new book by Miriam Felton, and it’s wonderful!  I purchased both the e book (gotta love that!) and a hard copy. 

Note: for a wonderful splurge or a holiday Wish List Item, get the hand bound limited edition copy!

The wonderful thing about these patterns is that they are specifically designed for luxury or hand spun yarns. Apparently, Miriam is unaware that I sell hand spun yarn and would have been happy to provide her with enough for one of her projects!

Another new release that I really love is Brave New Knits by Julie Turjoman.

Not only is it chock full of wonderful projects, but the concept is unique.  The designers featured are all bloggers as well as designers.  Each designer has two or more pages dedicated to their history, and this isn’t information cobbled together from their blogs, but fresh new insightful comments.  The only flaw, if one could call it that, is each blogger credits Ravelry with making huge changes in their design careers.  Now, I think Ravelry is amazing, but reading how wonderful Ravelry is 26 times in one book is a bit…repetitious, dare I say? (ducks rotten tomatoes)

Despite my lack of time for knitting and spinning, I can’t resist the occasional yarn goody.  Lurking in my mailbox:

Fiber from the Bee Mice Elf Club, and

BFL yarn from the Sanguin Gryphon. Pretty, pretty, pretty!

The Sanguin Gryphon sent me a free gift of earrings.  unfortunately, I have metal allergies, so my bad luck is your gain!

The 5th comment on this post will receive them FREE in the mail!

You will need to leave me a contact email so I can get your address and send it to you.

Happy crafting!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 10:08 pm

    My sister will LOVE that doll house, you did such a great job on restoring it!
    A is one lucky little girl.
    LOL…yes english style light over front door, I have one on mine!! very english 🙂

    xx

  2. October 13, 2010 3:34 pm

    Cheri, amazing work on the doll house. I never knew! I want those earrings!

    • artgurl permalink*
      October 13, 2010 5:10 pm

      Thanks! If I don’t get 5 comments, the earrings are yours!

      C

  3. ChristyS permalink
    October 13, 2010 5:44 pm

    You should show off your dollhouse in a dollhouse magazine. Maybe you could get them to pay you to write an article on it to accompany your pictures. You could certainly enter that at the fair and easily win.

    (I also have a metal allergy when it comes earrings.)

  4. October 29, 2010 7:02 pm

    I cannot believe your dollhouse. A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

  5. October 29, 2010 7:03 pm

    And if that makes me #5 it’s the best luck I’ve had all Craptober. I’ll wear them to Stitches for sure!

    • artgurl permalink*
      October 30, 2010 4:15 pm

      You are the lucky #5! Shall I mail them, or wait until I see you?

Leave a Reply

