Skip to content

The Crafting Continues

November 1, 2010

First of all, let me say, “Congratulations!”, to the The Mayor Of Crazy Town, winner of the Sanguine Gryphon earrings!

Next up, Miniature Goodies!

Here are some close-ups of the kitchen hutch, by Michael Mortimer.

Pewter tankards are from Swan House Miniatures.  The blue “spatter ware”, small baskets, cookie tin, jar of orange balls, tray and glass punch bowl are all from my childhood.  A few new additions to the kitchen are:

This delicious apple pie.  Looks good enough to eat, doesn’t it!

These amazing brotchen for the little people’s breakfast from After Dark!

How about this tasty spread for dinner from After Dark?  In Germany, lunch is the main meal of the day, served hot.  Dinner is usually cold cuts, cheese and fruits.  In my opinion, this is a much healthier way of eating, but my husband could not imagine foregoing a hot dinner!

Germans really love pickles!

And sausages!  The delicatessen’s in Europe have many more varieties of sausages than we do here in the U.S, and they are all delicious!

Next blog you’ll get a peek into the bathroom, and don’t worry, I’ll clean up before you arrive! 😉

Book Corner

A friend loaned me this book, Dropped Dead Stitch, by Maggie Sefton.


I don’t usually like mysteries, but I enjoyed this book despite myself.  Knitting was involved, as was mention of lots of yummy food and coffee, but the main focus was the mystery.  A charming mystery, and a fun, easy read.  Looking forward to reading some more books by this author.

Baby Jackets

Today I am posting 2 new baby jackets in my second shop Enchanted 123.

Heath and Heather, a cloud soft 100% baby alpaca cardigan, size 1, with a simple silk ribbon neck closure.$45.00

And Airstream, a reversible 100% cashmere baby jacket size 2-3T, featuring a designer fabric, and hand carved buttons. $85.00


Fiber Doings

Last weekend I went to a fiber retreat hosted by Studio 49 up in the mountains of Sonora.  Two friends went with me, and I have to say, we had so much fun!

There were speakers, and demonstrations, as well as a dying workshop.  Here you see two looms being demonstrated.  There must have been at least 100 people in attendance.  Never have I seen so many spinners in one place!  The retreat also hosted vendors from Shaggy Bear, Dreamy Goat Designs, and more.  Naturally I had to buy a little fiber.  Um, maybe a bit more than a little!

And of course I found a little friend for Amalie to take home.  100% Alpaca, from Peru.

Check out this display by Dreamy Goat.  Don’t you wish you could buy it all up?

The retreat also presents a High Tea, hosted by 3 lovely members of Studio 49.  They make all the table settings, and you get to take home your own hand-made place matt!  Home made goodies by the ladies and their spouses are nibbled during the “Show and Tell”, and raffle.  Of course I never win a thing!  I am beginning to wonder if my bad luck is rubbing off on my friends, because they didn’t win anything either.

However, so much fun was had by all that it really didn’t seem to matter.  Angela, whom I greatly admire for her clear headed-ness and amazing spinning skills (She won 2 awards at the Dixon Lambtown Festival), is putting her Spin-o-lution Bee spinning wheel through its paces.  Angela knit the lovely cardigan she is wearing.  The pattern is called Que Sera, available on Ravelry.

Ana Lena, blows away my mind with her color work, is an up and coming designer. She also won 2 awards at Dixion Lamb Town Festival.  Her first pattern will be released in Interweave Knits, due out this Wednesday!  Look for more designs from Ana Lena in the future.  She knit the sweater she is wearing from the book Poetry In Stitches. Amazing!

That’s all for now, have a craftastic week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ChristyS permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:14 pm

    Wow, was the wood in that miniature cabinet made from a miniature tree??? He he.

    Look at all those wheels! And Anna Lena’s sweather is crazy awesome. So I guess Interweave’s next issue is going to be full of designers I know (e.g., Maureen’s design)!

  2. November 3, 2010 7:25 am

    Woohoo! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

